Office of the Provost

Faculty Awards Programs

University of Michigan Faculty Awards

Administered by the Office of the Provost

  • Arthur F. Thurnau Professorships - December 2, 2019 (deadline)
    -Note to LSA administrators: LSA's internal due date is October 11, 2019. Please contact the Dean's Office for additional information
    (Administered by the Center for Research on Learning and Teaching on behalf of the Provost's Office)
    Recognize and reward faculty whose commitment to and investment in undergraduate teaching has had a demonstrable impact on the intellectual development and lives of their students.

  • Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award - March 23 (deadline)
    Recognize faculty whose service contributes to the development of a culturally and ethnically diverse campus community. Nominees must be full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty on the Ann Arbor campus.

Administered by the Rackham Graduate School

  • John H. D'Arms Faculty Awards for Distinguished Graduate Mentoring in the Humanities
  • Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards
  • Distinguished University Professorships
  • Faculty Recognition Awards
  • Henry Russel Award
  • Henry Russel Lectureship
  • Rackham Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award
  • Rackham Master's Mentoring Award
  • University Undergraduate Teaching Awards

External Faculty Awards

Administered by the Office of the Provost (contact the Office of the Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs)

  • Mellon Foundation - by invitation only